Talking to my daughter in the Yukon

Today is March 21, 2020, where there are 58 new coronavirus cases in Ontario, bringing the total to 368 active. She lives in the Yukon where there are only a few cases. She however is worried, as she left the Yukon visiting family in B.C. and travelled back through the Vancouver airport.

She is smart, compassionate, logical but you can hear the worry about what is the right thing to do. Makes sense doesn’t it, when you get conflicting messages from your own local health authorities but you hear the messages other countries who have been wrestling with this longer, are sharing what they have learned. As human beings we are vulnerable to the influences, decision making of leaders of our countries, the Senior Health Decision Makers and those who directly influence us in our day to day lives.

Only we can control our decisions, reach out for help when we need it and trust that we will overcome what is currently creating fear for many of us, the possibility of death. Our changing landscape.

Singing at funerals has made me look at death in a different way. Those with faith do believe that there is a better place once the soul leaves our body. For me the bottom line really is that I have done the best I can and those whose love I have shared through family, friendship and work. I hope they will think of me in a positive way, speak kindly of my efforts with others and that my children will share the funny, quirky side of their mother that have been meaningful influencing who they are, for the better. It is about the legacy we leave. I remind myself in my day to day living, that I see the face of God in all I meet. It is important to meet each person with kindness. When we find ourselves challenged, we take a look at ourselves rethink what kind of person am I and how can I do better. This truly is a time to do that, to learn and take on personal challenges that up until now, we have been “too busy” to pay attention to. May God keep us safe as the world deals with this pandemic.

About elske2013

Extensive experience in social services in Toronto/Hamilton area. Mother, sister, daughter, friend, volunteer, singer, animal and nature lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment